New York Philharmonic and Alan Gilbert

Sunday May 13 & Monday May 14
San Francisco Symphony


The New York Philharmonic returns to San Francisco with their first performances since 1999. In addition to being the oldest symphony orchestra in the United States, the Philharmonic has always championed music of its time, premiering many important pieces. Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 is one such work, which was given its US premiere by the Philharmonic in 1890. This tradition continues with the premiere of Magnus Lindberg’s new Piano Concerto No. 2, written while Lindberg was Composer-in-Residence with the Philharmonic.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: